City Council

The City of Auburn has a Council-Manager form of government, combining the strong political leadership of an elected council with the strong managerial experience of an appointed, professional government manager who oversees the day-to-day delivery of public services. The Auburn City Council consists of a Mayor, who serves the entire City, and eight Councilpersons, each serving a different geographic area of the city. The Mayor is the ceremonial head of government, is a voting member of the City Council and presides over Council meetings. The Auburn City Council acts as a body to set the policies and priorities of the City of Auburn, including approving the City's budget and major plans such as Renew Opelika Road and CompPlan 2030.


Auburn City Council meetings are the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the City Council Chamber, located in the Public Safety building at 141 North Ross Street. Any citizen may address the Auburn City Council as a whole during the Citizen's Communications at any Council meeting. Individual contact information for each Council member may be found on the "Council Members" tab to the left.


Auburn residents may always visit to look up their voting ward, voting location and Council representatives.